Lifecycle Management – Happeo

Lifecycle Management

In this article, you can read about Lifecycle Management and what it entails.

Package information: Lifecycle Management is available to Recommended, Custom, Growth & Enterprise Packages.

What is it?

Building a central source of truth means building a lot of content. The more content you create, the harder it is to keep it updated. That’s where Lifecycle Management comes in.

Lifecycle Management is an auto-auditing feature that reminds you when Channels or Pages have become outdated (“stale”) due to a lack of updates or activity over time. It can also be set to archive stale content after a set number of months automatically.

Currently, the feature only affects Channels and Pages.

Lifecycle Management is not shown in User Settings before the Admin has enabled the Lifecycle Management

How to enable and manage the Lifecycle of Channels and Pages

As an Admin, to enable and manage Lifecycle Management, you can:

  1. Navigate to your Admin Settings by clicking your Happeo avatar and selecting Admin Settings
  2. Click Lifecycle Management from the settings menu
  3. Select Channels or Pages at the top
    1. Note: You can do the following process for both Channels and Pages
  4. Toggle Active under Activate lifecycle management
  5. Decide how long a Channel or Page remains active before being considered "stale." For example, setting this to one month means content inactive or un-updated for that period will be flagged as “stale”
  6. ( Optional) Toggle automatic Channel / Page archiving or unpublishing - If you set this option, for example, to one month, stale Channels and Pages will be archived one month after they are considered stale

Channels

Admin Settings

Below is a screenshot of the Channels tab under Lifecycle Management. You can manage the settings for Channels’ Lifecycle Management and automatic Channel archiving here.

You can also find a list of stale Channels with information such as:

You can also click on the three dots next to a Channel to manage, refresh, or archive the Channel manually.

Note: Viewing and managing Stale Channels can also be done from the User Settings > Lifecycle.

Activeness tracking

Channels are measured by their activeness. If none of the following events happens during the activeness period, the Channel will be considered “stale."

Activeness can be determined by the following:

Pages

Admin Settings

Below is a screenshot of the Pages tab under Lifecycle Management. You can manage the settings for Pages’ Lifecycle Management and automatic Page archiving here.

You can also find a list of stale Pages with information about:

You can also click on the three dots next to a Page to view, refresh, edit, or manually unpublish the Page.

Note: Viewing and managing Stale Pages can also be done from the User Settings > Lifecycle.

Activeness tracking

Pages are not tracked by their activeness but rather by their up-to-dateness. So every time a Page Author / Editor changes or publishes a Page, its “reviewed date” value is updated.

Notifications

When Lifecycle Management is enabled, you'll receive weekly reminders about content nearing its automatic archiving or unpublishing date.

Note: To keep you informed, we'll send you no more than two notifications a week. Each notification will highlight content nearing its automatic archive or unpublish date, helping you take necessary actions.

Here's what you need to know:

Notification examples

Auto-archiving and auto-unpublishing

Turning on Lifecycle Management allows for automatically archiving Channels and unpublishing Pages based on the settings selected in the Admin Settings > Lifecycle Management. However, to prevent accidental content loss, we've implemented safeguards:

  1. Minimum threshold: Similar to Lifecycle Management's manual configuration, automatic actions won't occur until content reaches a minimum of 4 weeks (1 month) past its archiving / unpublishing date. This grace period allows you to review and update content if needed
  2. Pre-action notifications: Before automatic archiving or unpublishing, Page & Channel Owners, Editors, and Authors will receive at least 4 notifications regarding their content, giving them ample time to take action
  3. Manual override: You can always manually archive or unpublish content, regardless of automated actions

Updating stale Pages and Channels

To take a Page or Channel out of its "stale" state, you can:

Channels

  1. Navigate to the Admin Settings
  2. Click Lifecycle Management from the sidebar on the left
  3. Select the Channels tab
  4. Click the three dots next to a Channel you want to update and select Refresh

Pages

  1. Navigate to the Admin Settings
  2. Click Lifecycle Management from the sidebar on the left
  3. Select the Pages tab
  4. Click the three dots next to a Page you want to update and select Refresh