# Delete Users

**This article explains how to permanently delete users from Happeo.**

## What is user deletion in Happeo?

Deleting a user in Happeo permanently removes them from your organization's Happeo environment. This action is **irreversible**. The content of a deleted user will not be deleted but will appear as being created by a deleted user. Your analytics will also not be affected.

**Note:** To delete a user, **you must first suspend them.** More information about user suspension can be found in [this article](https://help.happeo.com/hc/en-us/articles/7551075813393-Suspend-Users).

**Key implications of user deletion:**

- The user will be completely removed from Happeo **searches**    
- They will no longer appear in the **organization chart**    
- The user will be removed from all **channel user lists,** and **member exports**    
- **Any content** created by the user, including channels, posts, pages, and files, will continue to exist in Happeo, however, they will be under the name “ **Deleted user**”  - **Note:** Deleting users, such as page owners or authors, will not impact the page or content itself    - If a page **author** is deleted, you can [assign a new author](https://help.happeo.com/hc/en-us/articles/7602819478929-Set-the-Page-Author) to the page    - If a page group **owner** is deleted, their status as a group owner will only be visible in **Admin Settings** > **Page Groups.** You cannot assign a new owner to the group
- They will continue to be included in analytics exports (until the deletion date) under the name “Deleted user”    
- **IMPORTANT:** A deleted user may reappear as a new account in Happeo if the user's information is still being synced from your provisioning source. To prevent this, please ensure the following:    - **For Google Workspace**        
  - **Option 1:** Move the user to an organizational unit where auto-sync is disabled    
  - **Option 2** – Delete the user from Google Workspace entirely    
- **For Okta**        
  - Remove the user from the Happeo application in Okta.    
- **For Entra ID**        
  - Ensure the user is not included in the sync scope of the Happeo application in Entra ID

**Note:** If you need to reactivate a user after deleting them, you can create a new Happeo account by resyncing their information. You can learn how to do so in the following articles:

- [Google Workspace](https://help.happeo.com/hc/en-us/articles/7548268481809-Update-Google-Workspace-Users-and-Groups)
- [Entra ID](https://help.happeo.com/hc/en-us/articles/8045562165265-Microsoft-Entra-ID-Provisioning-in-Happeo)
- [Okta](https://help.happeo.com/hc/en-us/articles/8045269963153-Okta-Provisioning)

## How to delete a user in Happeo

1. Go to the **Admin Settings** > **User Management**  
2. You can find suspended users in two ways:   
   1. By using the search bar  
   2. By looking at their seat status  
   3. Or by clicking the filtering menu at the top left of the user list and filtering by ‘suspended’  
3. Click the **three dots** next to the user you wish to delete  
4. Select **Delete user** button  
5. **Confirm** the deletion

**Note:** If a user is **not suspended,** the " **Delete user**" button will be disabled. Please ensure the user is suspended before proceeding with the deletion process.

## How to perform a bulk deletion

1. Go to the **Admin Settings** > **User Management**  
2. Filter by **Suspended** by clicking the **filtering menu** at the top-left of the user list  
3. **Check the boxes** next to the **users** you want to bulk delete   
   1. **For quick selection**, you can **check one box,** hold **Shift**, and check **another.** This will select all users between the two selected boxes  
4. Click the red **Delete users** button at the top-right of the user list  
5. **Confirm** the deletion
