# Modify Google Workspace Sync Scope

**This article explains how to modify your Happeo Integration sync scope in Google Workspace.**

**Note**: To modify your Happeo sync scope in Google Workspace, you must be a Google **Admin** or have permission to modify **user access** and **permissions**.

## Prerequisites

This article assumes that you have already established synchronization between your Google Workspace and Happeo.

This synchronization can either be a full sync (all organizational units are synchronized to Happeo) or a limited synchronization (a limited number of organizational units (OUs) are synchronized with Happeo).

In this article, we'll go over the steps needed to reduce or increase the **scope of your synchronization**.

## Modify an existing full sync to a limited sync

To modify an existing full sync to a limited sync, you must first identify if the assigned sync account user is a **Super Admin** in your **Google Workspace**. If so, you will need to **remove** the sync account user **Super Admin permission**.

To do so, you can:

1. Go to the **Google Workspace Admin Panel**( [admin.google.com](http://admin.google.com/))
2. Click **Directory**
3. Click **Users**

****

Then, you can:

1. Click the **sync account user** or **search** for the user in the list
2. Scroll down the right-hand panel until you see **Admin roles and privileges**
3. Click the **downward arrow** at the top-right corner of the title
4. **Hover** over the **roles** and click the **pencil icon** at the top right corner.
5. This will take you to the **Admin roles and privileges** editor
6. If the **Super Admin role** is **assigned**, click the **slider** to **unassign** the role
7. Scroll down and click **Save**

You can then follow the steps in [this article](https://help.happeo.com/hc/en-us/articles/12578600981265) under **Create and assign admin roles**.

## Modify an existing limited sync

In this section, we will provide you with the steps necessary to **modify your limited sync scope**. Modifying a limited sync scope is needed if either of the following statements is true:

- Additional OUs have been created in your Google Workspace and need to be included in your Happeo sync
  - This means that you added the OU in Google and can’t see the OU in Happeo yet
- Your current Happeo sync has OUs that no longer need to be listed in Happeo

To modify an existing limited sync, you must identify if the assigned sync account user is a **Super Admin** in your Google Workspace. If so, you will need to **remove** the Super Admin permission from the sync account user.

You can follow the steps below:

1. Go to the **Google Workspace Admin Panel** ( [admin.google.com](http://admin.google.com/))
2. Go to **Directory**
3. Then to **Users**
4. Click the **sync account user** or **search** for the user in the list
5. Scroll down the right-hand panel until you see **Admin roles and privileges**
6. Click the **downward arrow** at the top-right corner of the title
7. **Hover** over the **roles** and click the **pencil icon** at the top right corner. This will take you to the **Admin roles and privileges** editor
8. If the **Super Admin role** is **assigned**, click the **slider** to **unassign** the role

Then, you can:

1. Click the **Scope of role** column for the **Happeo User Sync role** to modify the OUs
2. **Add** or **remove** checks next to the OUs
3. Click the **Save** button in the lower right corner of the Roles and Privileges section

Then, log into Happeo and:

1. Go to **Admin Settings**
2. Click **User Management**
3. Click on the **Google Workspace** tab
4. Scroll down and click **Update OU list**

Lastly, you’ll need to **verify** that the OU list in Happeo has been **updated** to reflect the changes made to the **sync scope**.
